Fee Increase for Document Recordings in California

California Senate Bill 2 was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown on September 29, 2017 and will take effect January 1, 2018. It creates a $75 fee on certain real estate transaction documents when they are recorded, capped at $225 per transaction. The fee does not apply to sales of residential and commercial properties but instead to other transactions like mortgage refinancing and county fixture filings.